Skip to content

Streets of Gurgaon

November 17, 2010

Finally. Gurgaon has come of age and joined the civilized world. What has begun few years ago with start of metro construction will be (nearly) accomplished tomorrow with introduction of a bus shuttle servis from Sikandarpur metro station to Cyber City. No biggie one would say, but when I reach back in my memory just three months ago I was struggling to catch any cycle rikshaw that would take me to my office. And what a ride it was! A real offroad experience! Now – with a whole fleet of shiny new rikshaws, some of which are even available on call, are equiped with GPS and … mobile chargers, a bunch of shared rickshaws plying regularly from and to metro for just about 10rs and now – an AC bus… Its a Revolution.

And only when I look at the faces of those dozens of cycle rikshaw wallahs who just a while ago were ripping me off 40rs for a short ride knowing I’m not in a position to bargain, since I have no  other option, I feel sad. Their faces are desperate and so are they voices, when they are trying to catch attention of trespassers indiferrently passing by. They have their families in Bihar or Orissa, rent to pay, kids to send to school and most importantly – have to pay each month some 1500rs to their rickshaw lenders. What is my comfort and Haryana’s government’s ticket to pride, for many of them is their biggest nightmare come true. Anyway they were not making more than 2-3 thousand a month- barerly enough to buy enough food to get them calories for pulling their vehicles in the rain or scorching heat… Now many of them might not survive winter when their sole source of revenues suddenly dissappears.

The developement is a good thing and I’m definitely not saying metro or buses should not be enrolled to save some archaic job posts. But the responsible government should think of all its stakeholders if the growth is to be sustainable.

I will take a rick once in a while, no matter how uncomfy or expensive it will be. Thats my charity.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. November 17, 2010 6:52 pm

    When Basia told me metro-construction is almost done I was staring at her in disbelief…If u stick around till July I come on the metro to see u 🙂

  2. November 18, 2010 5:35 pm

    I live in Gurgaon. Been here for about a year after eight years in Kolkata. All of this happened thanks to the CWG games. Construction is still a nightmare but at least most of the infrastructure is in place. They still have to fix the electricity and the potholes though. No use having great stuff around for people to come and shop with no real roads to walk and drive on.

  3. vebydarya permalink
    May 23, 2012 9:06 am

    That’s pretty interesting point you raised. Being a Gurgaon resident for around 15 years, I have been to all phases Gugaon had passed though. And this is really tremendous to revise the journey from those early days to current cyber city.,,,However, I must say that with change in time, not just Towers and big brands acquired places across city, inhumanism too gained well enough in this city’s residents. And you know, now we have so many rappers, rash drivers, not-human, and lot more criminals amid us in MY GURGOAN… Shouldn’t I feel proud over all this growth or say development?

Leave a Reply

